Your Government Newsroom News Details
Menu

Newsroom

September 24, 2021
Notice of watermain flushing (Fall 2021)


Oxford County Public Works flushes all water mains in our systems twice annually (spring and fall) to remove any sediment or minerals (such as iron) that may have accumulated on the walls of the pipes, thereby improving the aesthetic quality of the water. The groundwater we use as a drinking water source has relatively high levels of minerals, which can settle in the water mains. While not a health hazard, if these minerals are not removed they can cause discoloured water and, overtime, can reduce the carrying capacity and effectiveness of the water mains.

When water mains are flushed customers may experience discoloured water or sediment in the areas being flushed.

If you avoid water use during the flushing, it will help prevent dirty water from being drawn into the household lines. The iron in the water is an aesthetic problem and is not a health concern.

If you get discoloured water, an outside tap or a laundry faucet not connected to a water softener or filter should be turned on after the work is completed, in order to flush the household lines. Please allow sufficient time for the water to clear.

If you continue to have problems with the water please notify the Oxford County Public Works Department by calling 1-866-537-7778. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the flushing program.

The water system will be flushed during the day, between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. on the dates listed below. Water main flushing in Ingersoll will be continuous (24 hours/day).

2021 Fall Flushing

Ingersoll

Mon. Sept. 27 - Fri. Oct. 8

Notice

Otterville/Springford

Tue.Oct.12 - Fri. Oct. 15

Notice

Plattsville

Tue. Oct. 12 - Fri. Oct. 15

Notice

Lakeside

Mon. Oct. 18

Notice

Norwich

Mon. Oct. 18 - Fri. Oct. 22

Notice

Sweaburg

Tue. Oct. 19

Notice

Mount Elgin

Wed. Oct. 20

Notice

Brownsville

Thur. Oct. 21

Notice

Beachville

Fri. Oct. 22

Notice

Tavistock

Sun. Oct. 24 - Fri. Oct. 29

Notice

Drumbo/Princeton

Mon. Oct. 25 - Fri. Oct. 29

Notice

Thamesford

Mon. Nov. 1 to Thurs. Nov. 4

Notice

Innerkip

Mon. Nov. 1 - Thurs. Nov. 4

Notice

Dereham Centre

Fri. Nov. 5

Notice

Bright

Fri. Nov. 5

Notice

Hickson

 Fri. Nov. 5

Notice

Embro

Mon. Nov. 8 - Wed. Nov. 10

Notice

More inforation can be found on the watermain flushing page


Oxford County is taking steps to support our community's response to COVID-19 (coronavirus disease) and measures taken by Southwestern Public Health. We are monitoring our operations daily to ensure we are taking the right actions to protect our residents, employees and visitors. Get updates at www.oxfordcounty.ca/COVID-19